Search This Blog

Monday, November 26, 2012

ArchEnemy - Frank Beddor

ArchEnemy by Frank Beddor is the heart-pounding conclusion to The Looking Glass Wars Trilogy, which is based on Lewis Carroll's popular Alice in Wonderland and Through the Looking Glass novels.

This amazing re-telling has Alyss getting lost on Earth, rather than in Wonderland. Many familiar characters from the original novel are delightfully recreated. The Mad Hatter as Hatter Madigan, a talented military man and personal guard of Queen Genevieve Heart. The White Rabbit is found in Alyss's tutor Bibwit Harte (an anagram of the original name). The Red Queen is now Alyss's Aunt Redd who is hellbent on getting back on the throne of Wonderland. The Cheshire cat is transformed into a highly trained assassin, only known as "The Cat". Even the caterpillar makes a reappearance as the oracle of Wonderland. Imaginative recreations of familiar objects, places, and characters appear throughout the series, along with many of the author's own unique additions.

In this final novel, Alyss must fight against Aunt Redd and the invading enemy King Arch of Borderland. The battle against her Aunt Redd was desperate enough before, but now without her imagination available to her, Alyss must think of other ways to defeat them both. Friends both new and old come out to help her along the way, all while the Caterpillars continue to interfere for reasons unknown to anybody.

Some may find this much darker than the original novels by Lewis Carroll due to fond childhood memories. Others may find that the dark tone of these novels will match with that of the original novels. There is a lot of violence and many deaths in this series, many of which are emotionally engaging. Readers who enjoy reimaginings may enjoy this series, while those who are more traditional would probably prefer to stay away.

Books from this series:
The Looking Glass Wars
Seeing Redd

Graphic Novels for The Looking Glass War:
Hatter M
Hatter M: Mad with Wonder
Hatter M: The Nature of Wonder

Source Material:
Alice's Adventures in Wonderland by Lewis Carroll
Through the Looking Glass by Lewis Carroll

Recommended Viewing:
Disney's Alice in Wonderland
Alice's Adventures in Wonderland
Alice Mini-Series

No comments:

Post a Comment