Search This Blog

Monday, March 31, 2014

Batgirl: Knightfall Descends - Gail Simone

Barbara Gordon has come a long way from being a little girl to a member of the Bat family. In A Fire in the Heavens, Barbara recalls when she first donned her costume and her journey as Batgirl.

When Batgirl goes after Grotesque, she finds herself in A View from Below the water, nearly drowning. After the harrowing encounter, Batgirl seeks guidance and training with Black Canary. There's No Darker Shadow than the past and Barbara finds herself face-to-face with one of the men who stood by the Joker in his last attack.

Batgirl finds herself In the Line of Fire when the Court of Owls goes after officials in Gotham. The Court of Owls plot line takes place throughout several Batman comics, so if the reader wants to read the rest of the story it can be found in Batman: Night of the Owls.

Batgirl is a vigilante herself, but she finds that not all vigilante's abide by the same rules she and the rest of the family do. When she discovers Knightfall and her gang capturing and torturing criminals, she has to stop them. With the interference of the police department and Batwoman, her mission only becomes more difficult.

A thread from Barbara's past ties all of these stories together. Her brother's strange behavior as a child and his finally being locked away brings her mother back. When her roommate brings home a cat named Alaska, she remembers having a cat of the same name as a child, but she doesn't yet suspect that the tie to her past is stronger than she knows.

As always, the artwork is amazing. The continued insight into Batgirl's physical and psychological recovery displays the writers devotion to continuity. Fans of the 52 reboot will be satisfied with this additional collection.

Books in the Series:
Batgirl: The Darkest Reflection
Batgirl: Death in the Family

No comments:

Post a Comment